More on damnation v. universal salvation

Since I first wrote this post on the doctrine of damnation, and why it seems to me inescapable, I’ve stumbled upon a number of other conversations on the subject, with many voices from the universal salvation perspective. I have read defenses of that position from both liberal and conservative Christians, but to my mind, they all fall short on either or both of two fronts.  Sometimes the view of Heaven seems not fully thought through. What is the nature of eternal life, and does it admit even the possibility of the admission of the unwilling? I contend that this would be like insisting that a circle be made with more corners.

 

The second error seems more peculiar. I contend that the universalist’s view of humanity is too low. For God to produce what I think He intends in us, it is necessary that we have a free will which is efficacious. God cannot trump it without denying and defeating His own purpose. A think that is a lot of the point of the story of Noah and the flood.  

 

For those interested in the question, I suggest the following two discussions, along with my own post below.

 

-Blessings

http://interspiritualchristian.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/on-the-nature-of-scripture/#comment-3

and

http://chadholtz.wordpress.com/2008/12/10/the-universal-good-news/

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under ALL, Christianity, Heaven and hell, preaching, Theology, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

